Where are all the european creepy crawlies

October 30, 2007 at 5:38 pm 19 comments

Who knows that lizard that does press ups before it moves anywhere? Man I miss that crawly! I swear I haven’t gone crazy.

The other day I saw some birds and I was wondering what they were eating couz I have NEVER seen an insect since I came! None! Maybe its couz I was soo used to things crawling everywhere.  A fly here, a kamosquitoe there, caterpillar, snakes, rats etc. Wajama even in nairobi you still see a kafly and some mosquitoes. Heck even a snake sometimes

I am not even talking about the ugly crawlies, even the cute ones like butterflies, beetles (not the cow dung ones)

Nothing, Nada. No insects. And don’t tell me someone collected them and took them to the zoo, who collected the shetulas?

Seriously Mocha, and Farmgal where are the insects?

And No am not bored, I want insects

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bet you thought I went missing! Is this real?

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirima  |  October 30, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Thats the first time ever I have heard of someone missing bugs! LOL! Can we switch places given that my place is full of every bug imaginable (snakes and bats included)its even my job to get rid of bugs at work.

    I miss those things I think they remind me of home/

    Reply
  • 2. Farmgal  |  October 30, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    Are you kidding! You want crawlies?
    Welcome to England and the way I’d guessed you were in Germany!
    We in London this coming weekend. If you’re anywhere near olympus, come with us to a conference we going for.

    Karibu!

    I wish, nope am irish

    Reply
  • 3. threetypesofcrazy  |  October 30, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    wewe atii you are looking for insects! Please remember that they are considered pets where you are. Don’t be caught roasting or straing at someone’s pet!

    LOL ati they are pets? all I see is some *ehm* not very pretty dogs

    Reply
  • 4. makanga  |  October 31, 2007 at 7:43 am

    I don’t know about you, but when the birds stop chirping and go away for winter around here, I go craazaay.

    You mean to tell me I will even stop seeing the birds? that makes me sooo sad

    Reply
  • 5. egm  |  October 31, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Ah, missing the crawlies? I was fortunate where I lived in Stato was near some misitus that did not lack them crawlies. But as Makanga writes, once winter kicked in, then life was dead till spring. And so I’m glad to be back where life of the crawlies exists year round. They make for great photo subjects!

    I am missing those bugs! they just have a way of telling you umefika nyumbani

    Reply
  • 6. Mocha!  |  October 31, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    Haiya….pointi, like Farmgal semad, weekend tuko London, Kensington Olympia. Holla we hook up for a meal and a drink.

    As for missing bugs….I don’t. I guess they will make me more homesick….kwanza mende!!!

    Nione kando for details of a mini meet-up!!!

    Mendes are a must in every kitchen otherwise it shows you have no food.

    Reply
  • 7. Gishungwa  |  October 31, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    LMAO i can fedex you some sugar ants i hope those will be ok i dont have mendes. So how is the place?

    Reply
  • 8. pilato  |  October 31, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    What i miss is the Kenyan dust..have never bought a shoe polish in my long stay these sides..jamaas just come from home and they are like” nyumbani ni kuzuri..na haki kuna vumbi

    Reply
  • 9. Farmgal  |  October 31, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    Ireland is just here!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Xs  |  October 31, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    I also got an insect pet – a huge mende – when i fika keja its always hapo kwa bafu….mpaka nowadays it doesnt scurry away as i do my biz hapop kando…… am thinking sijui i smuggle ‘it’ to Ke when i leave this place….WHO AM I KIDDING – ni vile am always tired otherwise it wud have been squeesshhhheeed kitambo! LOL Am i send it your way?

    Reply
  • 11. kip  |  November 1, 2007 at 8:55 am

    lol culture shock has checked in mapemas huh? hanukaga insects mob hukus….. it took me 1 year to see a fly … ive never seen a mosquito … naskia kwa news.

    Reply
  • 12. kip  |  November 1, 2007 at 8:56 am

    farmgal

    kwani hizo confrence zenu your are inviting 1/2 n 1/2 are for everyone as in one come all ama its those ” womens confrences” where they give everyone some anti-birth control manenos …. lol

    Reply
  • 13. bomseh  |  November 2, 2007 at 11:30 am

    Why are pests being referred to as pets here? I can get you one pregnant kunguni then as they will come to say later, the rest will was history.

    Reply
  • 14. Wanja  |  November 2, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    Who thought you would miss dudus?

    Reply
  • 15. Shamza  |  November 2, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    Ahaaaaa..welcome home! St. Patrick took ALL of them away!

    Reply
  • 16. Guessaurus  |  November 2, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    I am not even sure I need to comment on this one – seeing that I was in KE and got my ‘quota’ of insecta sorted. *sigh* . But I agree with u – bar rats, there is no other ‘creepies’ in England – well, er.. Britain .. sorry .. the UK

    In Dubyaville (my galpal Devious would be so proud) there are flies – I mean seriously – ngi – inzi – the black ones no less – do u want a consignment of some?

    I love to the nth term squirrels – that is life to me

    Reply
  • 17. aegeus  |  November 5, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    hmmm….what i would give for an insect free existence, i have one huuuuge can of Baygon, any insects i espy are Baygoned promptly and remains swept away immediately!

    Reply
  • 18. modoathii  |  November 20, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    evidently someone is bugged.

    Reply
  • 19. bob  |  January 17, 2008 at 8:28 am

    VkohkA hi nice site thx http://peace.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



