I hate it…….

January 3, 2008 at 1:56 pm 15 comments

I hate it that my motherland is bleeding

I hate it that my country is bleeding because of people who have been in politics since before I was born

I hate it that young men who were not born when this old men started politics are dying

I hate it that because of them women old enough to be their grandmothers are dying

I hate it that children young enough to be their grand daughters will never enjoy the beauty of Kenya because the are dead!

I hate it that friends and neighbors are turning foe

I hate it that intelligent men and women are becoming tribal, abusive and hate filled

I hate it that we are burning and bleeding while they sit in their comfort making grandiose-chest thumping-mine is longer than yours statements!

I hate it that every time I check my mail Kenya is on the headlines

I hate it that am able to check mail and my friends and family can not

I hate it that we are on the news along Pakistan and Darfur

I hate it that Desmond Tutu is in Kenya and not to visit Maasai Mara

I hate it that red cross is appealing on behalf of Kenya

I hate it that we have refugees in Nairobi

I hate it that we need humanitarian assistance

I hate it that I have to wake up everyday at 4 am to find out whether my family is still alive

I hate it that I can not think of anything else

I hate it that people look at me with pity every time I introduce myself

I hate it that my landlady (whom I hate) feels sorry for me

I hate it that I am not able to come home

Most of all:

I hate it that my humanitarian experience may be required in my motherland!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Sober Christmas? WHY Are we moving on yet?

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirima  |  January 3, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    I hate it as well!

    Reply
  • 2. mwari  |  January 3, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Kenyans don’t deserve it. My eyes are bleary from hours on the internet and cnn/bbc/aljazeera trying to keep up with news from home. I hate that every sms scares me—incase it bears bad news. But in God we trust!

    Reply
  • 3. sweets  |  January 3, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    add to this list that i hate it now coz am scared and embarassed to say am kenyan! The first time i saw the story on CNN i caught it in the middle and i could have sworn it was Pakistan only to see Kenyans!!!
    I hate it that i cant go back home even when i really want to. I really hate it.

    Reply
  • 4. aegeus  |  January 4, 2008 at 1:44 am

    sad, ugly and depressing. peace.

    Reply
  • 5. kip  |  January 4, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    kibaki is to blame no doubts about that ! dude rigged elections and dare talk of democracy?????? raila won the elections no doubt! and whatever it will take raila must be declared president becuase i saw it in my own freaking two eyes as kibaki rigged ….

    4 days of gun shots in my hood 31 people killed by police in my shags … .I am stuck in kericho because of no fuel and cash in the ATM machines to make it worse i cant drive to nairobi cuz some guys are killig people in naivasha and kijabe and my only way out is to fly from eldoret to nairobi and back to states……

    Reply
  • 6. Kenyan Pundit » Diary 9 - I hate it!  |  January 8, 2008 at 10:48 am

    […] About making it personal, I’ll borrow a phrase from Half n Half: […]

    Reply
  • 7. bankelele  |  January 8, 2008 at 11:17 am

    I hate it too, but have to remain optimistic

    Reply
  • 8. JANE MWIKALI  |  January 8, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    I SAY RAILA IS TO BLAME FOR THE CHAOS,EVERYWHERE HE GOES HE LEAVES DESTRUCTION,HE INCITED PEOPLE BY PLAYING THE TRIBAL CARD,THE LAST TIME WE HAD TROUBLE WAS IN 1982 WHERE 1,500 DIED BY TRYING TO BE PRESIDENT BY THE BARREL OF THE GUN.

    JANE MWIKALI
    DUBLIN
    IRELAND

    Reply
  • 9. Lucy  |  January 8, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    I feel sad when I see the above comments, because I don’t think they are helping us. I think we should stop the blaming game and encourage people to help and stop hating each other. It’s very fine for people to talk when they did not even vote. If people were feeling that bad, all of them would have been on the streets and nobody would have been able to stop them. But in this case some people think they have more to lose than gain and are just watching what is going on from the security of their houses and that is why Raila and Co will have to think again or join the government.

    Reply
  • 10. irene waihenya  |  January 8, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Our loving kenya,its not the kenya i used to know anymore.people’s eyes filled with hatred,anger..etc.GOD BLESS KENYA:

    IRENE WAIHENYA
    BERLIN
    GERMANY

    Reply
  • 11. papa  |  January 9, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    jane mwikali go back to the website misterseed where your anger and mid life crisis is well known in that forum…..

    Reply
  • 12. sisbigbones  |  January 10, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Some of the comments above are exactly why there’s still violence going on. It’s completely useless to point fingers. Let there be peace, all other issues will be dealt with later. Eventually, the truth will come out. It always does.

    Reply
  • 13. Half n Half  |  January 12, 2008 at 1:27 am

    Mwikali na papa, tafadhali, not here!

    Mwikali hebu ona mimi sideways! (mail)

    Reply
  • 14. Gish  |  January 16, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    It should never have gotten here regardless of who, what where. I keep thinking there must be a better way. My heart cries for the innocent Children who have no idea what the heck is going on apart form that there is no home, ma or pops. I hate this feeling of helplessness.
    God help us all.

    Reply
  • 15. modoathii  |  January 29, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    i’m hating it too, but our strong belief in a brighter future keeps us praying, preaching peace and living peacefully.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



