Are we moving on yet?

January 16, 2008 at 5:41 pm 20 comments

Can we go back to blogging about stuff that is not politics! I hate what politics has done to otherwise sane people, so am not dwelling! (surely even the joke blog is back)

Am swiftly moving on to a hilarious sad encounter! Today si I go town to walk about, I know its a work day but hey people get toothaches,headaches and women’s sicknesses etc. Anywho, I may hate the weather in Dublin (am still waiting for snow), but it is one the most beautiful places I have been to. The architecture is just old and beautiful. So I love escaping my responsibilities and just go to town to take pictures which I must say are not as beautiful as EGMs…..*sigh* Oh well

So today as am walking about what do I hear? Mugithi! Me and my kimbelembeles rush to the shop, si I have heard kenyans. Waa shock on me! here is the conversation:

Me: Hallo

Her: Harro

Me: sasa,

Her: Fiti

Me: Wee ni mkenya?

Her: No am not a Kenyan. Am a  zambian who stayed in Kenya for a few months

Bloody likely! With that accent? Like hell!

Me: so where in kenya did you stay (am nosy like that)

Her: am sorry am bise, can you come back some other time!

Clues: kayamba mugithi, Kenyan coffee,  masaai market curios, mugikuyu accent…………aiii.

I have come home and riled to my collegue about it. But apparently most of us are going around denying we are Kenyans couz of the recent events and how we have been portrayed in the media… There is absolutely no way I will deny am a Kenyan, EVER!

I have never been put off like that! My fault for being nosy! Sawa tu!

Haya…. Stay safe Y’all

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I hate it……. Updates

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. acolyte  |  January 16, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Sadly with some accents there is no escape for Kenyans abroad, some people just need to keep their heads held up high as Kenya is still where you came from whether you like it or not!

    Hi Aco, but why deny the obvious?

    Reply
  • 2. threetypesofcrazy  |  January 16, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    so will the person be kenyan when they are less busy?
    ama the person thought you were recording some documentary with your camera!!!!!!!!!

    I bet she thought I was gonna ask for a loan!

    Reply
  • 3. Muthii Fulani  |  January 16, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    hehehe!! ati there is a new policy for kenyans in the diaspora? this is new! sad though, me, my kenya, no way am i denying you.

    Yaani me even if we get a dictator “not ati we don’t have one now” I can never deny being Kenyan”

    Reply
  • 4. tom  |  January 17, 2008 at 7:03 am

    never say never EVER

    NEVER!!!!” Karibu

    Reply
  • 5. mwari  |  January 17, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    lol! I too lean on the nosy side, but I am quickly learning that not everybody is happy to meet another kenyan. More than anything, the question i have leart to avoid is, ” What do you do”? I did not realize that many people prefer to keep ‘whatever they do’ very much underwraps!

    That is why peeps dont want to be asked what they do, couz they are doing Stuff”

    Reply
  • 6. Wanja  |  January 17, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    It is indeed very sad, but funny…the following words from a friend of mine kinda sums it up….”for once I know I am a foreigner and a common enemy…. I must be very big”

    Though i am still holding to the notion that we shall soon resume to our “peace loving” ways…..soon!

    Hmmmm, they do. at this public rally rate, doubt it

    Reply
  • 7. egm  |  January 21, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Ah, si you share them pictures with us? I’m sure there will be gems in there.

    Kenyan damu!

    Reply
  • 8. Seasons  |  January 21, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Hmmm, I just came back home(please don’t say again) and whilst away, I was asked too many questions about Kenya- even the dude who stamped exit on my passport kept the queue talking to me.

    But I still cant deny being Kenyan

    Reply
  • 9. Bomseh  |  January 21, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Mkenya damu. Only that when someone asks me about what is happening back home I tell them to google since I’m not there. That, coupled with a sura ya kazi, (na sio kazi ya ofisi) usually ends the conversation, but I never deny being Kenyan.

    Reply
  • 10. Afrobabe  |  January 22, 2008 at 12:08 am

    When I first moved to London, i thought It was nice to say hi to Nigerians on the streets….Boy was I wrong,some even pretend to be Jamaicans cos of the fraudulent image of Nigeria…pissed me off big time.

    Nice blog.

    Reply
  • 11. kip  |  January 23, 2008 at 3:56 am

    how do you move on? someone educate me…

    Reply
  • 12. prou  |  January 24, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    No we are not moving on yet nusumbili. Happy new year.

    Ati you deny being a Kenyan? Something is bound to give you away eventually.
    A happy new year to you and yours.

    Reply
  • 13. Half n Half  |  January 24, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    So are we ever gonna move on? shall we get stuck here? speaking as someone who has lived in a country in this situation, I think we better move on

    Reply
  • 14. bryjoe  |  January 25, 2008 at 7:49 am

    LOL!
    an 69year old friend of mine recently wanted to know if i was hoaxing him when i sent him pictures of nairobi..(i hink he saw kisumu city footage after the rampage)

    he is still convinced that we trashed Nairobi..

    thing are looking up though…..

    Reply
  • 15. NAkeel  |  January 28, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Pole mami for being snobbed like that. Lool ati Haroo then am zambian next time ukimwona tell her nyubani ni nyubani…..

    Reply
  • 16. modoathii  |  January 29, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    i love kenya for life. just hate the politicians we have.

    Reply
  • 17. KK  |  January 31, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Nothing new….. happened to me before….. long before election or post election noma.

    Reply
  • 18. sisbigbones  |  February 1, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Haiya, that’s a new one, mpaka people are denying they’re Kenyan? I still tell people I’m Kenyan, but I hate the next sentence that always follows….”so sad what’s happening in your country…” That really gets my blood boiling, mostly because truth hurts.

    Ps. Did I “hear” you wish for snow? Woi, and here I am fantasizing about spring and wondering if I will ever feel the warmth of the sun. I seem to have forgotten what it feels like 😦

    Reply
  • 19. kip  |  February 8, 2008 at 8:21 am

    finally moved on … even though shingo upande..

    Reply
  • 20. candybox  |  February 17, 2008 at 2:47 am

    Whenever somebody denies being Kenyan esp if they have ‘r’ and ‘l’ contraversies i just vibe them in kiuk then walk away leaving them embarassed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



