Mountain/ HILL climbing

April 22, 2008 at 2:05 am 7 comments

What is the difference between a mountain and a really really big hill? why do I ask this?

Ok so this weekend I skived work and school and went mountain/hill climbing! Everyone and I mean every single person who knows me, knows that am the sort of person who will take a mat or a tuk tuk (I love this things!) from railways to Nairobi university (Sudduf). So the first time my irish friend asked me to go mountain climbing, I gave her those looks of “are you from mars?” But slowly the idea started growing on me, and I decided to do it.

First we drove almost six hours to get to the mountain town and as we drove, my mind kept on shifting from “girl take a bus and go right back to dublin” and “ok gal, this has to be fun”. Anywho we finally arrived late in the night and decided to go check out the local pub scene.  We ended up sleeping at around 3 am! Obviously we are not serious mountaineers!

Now the next morning is when the monumental argument broke out! As far as am concerned, a mountain is a huge mammoth of a thing! what stood before us was obviously in my very right opinion a HILL. But no amount of arguing would convince my colleagues that the thing infront of us was a hill…..that not withstanding, we proceeded to climb the HILL. Which took us almost 3 hours! Which infact validated my argument. No self respecting mountain would be climbed to the top by a lazy hangovered person like me in three hours!

Aftermath

Now, what I didnt mention was that I had a report due today! by the time I was skiving work, I had not even started the damn thing! So me to wake up today, muscles sore and hurting like hell, head pounding thanks to crazy amounts of alcohol and boss calling me asking for report! (Over my very fruitful weekend I had been taught how to call voice mail directly to avoid talking to said boss! which I had done and coughed and heaved myself out of work). So Iam debating whether to do the voice mail thing again tomorrow or just go face the music!

On a totally unrelated matter, do we still have space in the BT train? I loose track of who is there right now!  I was right all along, Absence really does make the heart go yonder.

Well have a Boss free week!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Yawwwwn We rule….

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Princess  |  April 22, 2008 at 4:08 am

    There is ample room on the “B-Train”…feel free to hop on anytime!!

    Hi you, been a while! Are you on it? maybe we should start a registration system!

    Reply
  • 2. Kirima  |  April 22, 2008 at 8:00 am

    I always get amused by colleagues from Holland who always ask ‘what is the name of that mountain? Whenever they come across any mound of soil(aka hill) but then again Holland is flatter than a pancake.
    Now I wish you can share that direct voicemail trick! (not so that I can use it on my boss but to avoid people like you using it on me hehehehehe!

    Hmmm, let me think If I want to give it out for free, and Iam not sure if its universal or irish!
    LOL at holland! hope they are not here

    Reply
  • 3. threetypesofcrazy  |  April 22, 2008 at 9:09 am

    LOOOOL. Sii you invite said friends back home when you go back.

    And yes, ebu do tell how yo call voice mail straight- I need to put that in my just in case box.

    Hebu try and see if it works there, as I told kirish, not sure if its irish only, anyway, dial the suffix i.e o722 then add 5 then the no. not sure it works everywhere but it does here

    Reply
  • 4. prou  |  April 22, 2008 at 9:28 am

    Ati absence makes the heart go yonder aii!
    I agree with you that was a hill. For a mountain you would need several days to go up and eventually come down.

    I thought so too! Yes some hear went yonder! LOL

    Reply
  • 5. bomseh  |  April 22, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Not only did you climb and shuka a hill, you also shukad the BT. There is always space if you wanna jump back in.

    Atleast if I climb the BT train I know what it is! hii BT ina watu wengi! pia wewe? I need to get off it ASAP!

    Reply
  • 6. Nakeel  |  April 22, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Lool you should invite them and hook them with Modo to take then to Mt Kenya they know what a mountain is.
    Ati voicemail. I do text the boss and insert sina sauti kwa text that he doesn’t call.
    Dont climb the BT just hang around the stage. there…

    Reply
  • 7. Gish  |  April 25, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Welcome to the BT tuko wengi LOL. I wonder if the antills in Ukambani would also qualify as mountains LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



